Australian Curriculum & the ICE approach

download


 

“I am overwhelmed.”

“I cannot memorise scope and sequence!”

“I don’t know where to start and how to start and what to start….”

“How can I assess intercultural understanding?”

“I cannot do this (Australian Curriculum)!  I cannot change what I have been doing!  I have no time to do this.  My principal is not supportive.  My students have serious behaviour problems….”

“In short, nothing will change…”

 

Have you heard of those internal and external voice after you attend a workshop or seminar on Australian curriculum: Language?  If yes, you are not alone.  There are actually many language teachers thinking that way RIGHT NOW.  I was one of them.

Of course, we learn many valuable things from every single workshop and seminar.  We are grateful for organisers and those learning and networking opportunities.  But nevertheless, many of us still feel Australian Curriculum: Language is far away from our daily practices in the classrooms.

But as we learned at the seminar, “Ready?  Set?  Plan?” in Brisbane on 12th of March 2016, Australian Curriculum is much more flexible than many of us thought.  We can start where we are right now.  There is no such a thing, a wrong starting point.

Therefore, I have decided to share where I am in Australian Curriculum right now.  Of course, this is not the answer for everyone.  It might contain my misunderstandings for Australian curriculum.  But I do believe that this sharing can be one of the starting points to approach toward Australian Curriculum and expand our daily practices.

The key word is ICE.

This ICE approach helped me a lot start practicing for Australian Curriculum and see more active learning for my students.  The ICE approach helps students and teachers clearly understand where they are in the learning/teaching process and what to do for the next level.


download

<<< CLICK TO DOWNLOAD (pdf)

Leave a Reply

